Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Adventuron on mobile phones

A topic by Garry Francis created Sep 16, 2019 Views: 163 Replies: 8
Viewing posts 1 to 6
Submitted(+1)

When I got to work this morning, we had some sort of evacuation drill, so I went across the road to the park (which is our assembly area), found myself a park bench and booted up my adventure on my mobile phone.

Wow! I was pleasantly surprised. It looked good, worked well and was easy to use. Great work Chris Ainsley!

After playing mine through, I realised that some of the graphics towards the end are a bit dark to see clearly when you're using the phone outdoors, so I'll have to keep that in mind in future. I started playing one of the other games on the way home. I could actually take a liking to this Adventuron thing. Where do I sign up?

Host (1 edit)

Thanks for the compliment! 

It's hard work getting it to work on mobile reasonably well, and it's a large part of the reason the project just keeps dragging on and on.

For games with small to medium amounts of text and images with a letterbox aspect ratio it should work fairly well without modification because of a multitude of little tricks.

For games that are verbose, then there are techniques for customising the layout better for mobile in particular. 

There isn't a one-size-fits-all approach to making text adventure games adaptive. I try my best to use sensible defaults for mobile mode, then it's up to the author to tweak the settings based on the requirements of their game.

Submitted (2 edits)

Wow! I was pleasantly surprised. It looked good, worked well and was easy to use. Great work Chris Ainsley!
// Garry

Yeah, I was surprised too, :3 actually I have played all the games of jam in the phone :3 (Sorry for no feedback for Seekers yet, Im stucked ;-; the troll dont wants the f** apple and Im not getting what should I do... but its okay i will discover)