Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Post your progress and screenshots!

A topic by rxi created Sep 05, 2016 Views: 523 Replies: 2
Viewing posts 1 to 3
Submitted

It'd be interesting to see what everyone is working on, post your progress / .gifs / screenshots / devlog links!

Have you done something ? Could love to see anything too!

Submitted

About our entry: Make Them Survive.

Background

With my wife, we lurked around gamejams for some times without participating. With little to no experience in video-game making we waited for something really inspiring. I am a professional developer (not in game industry) and she is a skillful drawer, so we have the technical base to at least put something to life. For our first gamejam, we wanted something to do for a week-end so we can test the water without committing to a complex project, that's why we released so early.

The Fermi paradox jam

We heard about the gamejam Friday on the evening, that was a perfect time to begin.

Strangely, seeing the subject inspired to both of us the same notion: Death. The initial brainstorming came from "Dying is the way to meet" to the current "Meeting is the way to die", certainly because it was easier to translate to a simple gamedesign.

The rest of the evening was brainstorm about the game design and sketches of character concepts. If you are really curious, you can see some of our notes here.

Saturday was the day to begin the implementation and digital drawing.

For the implementation I decided to go with a little javascript gameengine I did some time ago as a hobby project to learn HTML canvas. It is not a super good piece of technology but one I am familiar with, so we earned some time here. I also decided from commit one to go with steering behaviours for actor's AI because it is simple, it is appropriate here and I wanted to implement it since I read an article about it.