Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

When did you start playing TTRPGs?

A topic by Nameless Designer created Oct 29, 2022 Views: 180 Replies: 6
Viewing posts 1 to 7
Host

We have 19 people (as of todays date) who have joined the game jam which was probably more than I was expecting for an unknown game. So thank you and welcome to the jam.

We still have a number of weeks before the game jam starts but I was going to see if we can get to know each other a little bit better in the run up to the start of the jam.

The question I was going to ask as a way of introducing yourselves is,  when did you first start playing TTRPG games and what were the first few  games you remember playing?

Host

I started playing B/X D&D (Moldvay edition) in the early 80's which was our main game of choice but I also recall playing a bit of Traveller, Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay, Dragon Warriors, MERP (Middle Earth Role-Playing), TMNT (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), Paranoia  before progressing onto AD&D aswell as reading lots of the Fighting Fantasy (Choose Your Own Adventure) books.

Submitted (2 edits)

I ran my first campaign in the summer of 1977 - starting with D&D (Original Edition) and moving on to the Basic Set. After which I played AD&D (1e) for several years, then shifted to Gamma World, Traveller, Tunnels & Trolls, The Fantasy Trip: In the Labyrinth, DragonQuest, RuneQuest, Bushido, Aftermath, Space Opera, Morrow Project, Torg (Classic Edition) and other even lesser known old-school games. Played tournaments at Tex-Cons 1-3. I am married and have three children of which my son plays regularly and my youngest daughter and my wife also occasionally sit in for family games of Munchkin (cardgame), Posthuman (boardgame), and Maximum Apocalypse (boardgame & RPG).