SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

DevLog - Untitled Heal Game

A topic by orels1 created Jul 13, 2022 Views: 91
Viewing posts 1 to 1
Submitted

Hello there, anyone who stumbles across this 馃憢

I've been meaning to actually participate in a proper game jam for ages, so woohoo, I'm finally doing it!

When I read the theme - the first ever thing that came to my mind was something like a step-based puzzle where you lose health every step, and then can heal up.

So it would be something like a Helltaker-style game, in terms of gameplay, but much simpler as I don't have much trust in my focus/spare time for this.

So I went and grabbed some of the amazing CC0 assets by Kenney and got to work

That was the first thing I put together after spending like 4 hours reading about unity sprites/tilemaps and watching the old Brackeys videos.

Just as a side-note, I have some unity experience from building worlds for VRChat, and I'm a web developer by trade, but I never before have built an actual game, or worked with 2d at all, so almost all of this was new to me, which was super fun!

So after figuring out how the heck you do the tilemaps and layers and all that fun stuff - I got my first level working, and slapped together some victory UI!

I tried using the new fancy UIToolkit for the UI, but it turned out to be so detached from any familiar unity flows that I went back to the regular old Unity UI.

I also never tried DOTween before, so I decide that this is as good of a time as any, an implemented the player controller by moving a Rigidbody2D with DOTween and having a separate tilemap layer that has colliders on it.