Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Newbie Support group

A topic by Yingvar created 33 days ago Views: 116 Replies: 1
Viewing posts 1 to 2
(+1)

Hey all, I joined this jam and am brand new to game programming. Have a degree in information technology but not the best at it. Started learning just a month ago and wanted to make games to help people with mental/physical health issues. (I Have ADHD and Fibromyalgia) 

I know this is a competition but considering the theme I really want to start a support group on here for my fellow devs that suffer from mental difficulties, anxiety, physical limitations... etc. (New or veteran doesn't matter) There's threads looking for groups on dev teams but here I'd like to be a place to help motivate and help the other groups. Yes I'd like to win if I pulled that off somehow as a newbie but only because everyone else did their best.

I have a lot of experience helping myself and many others through trauma and stress (Originally wanted to be a therapist and teacher and done some schooling in these fields.) I am not a credited therapist in any way so this is just friendly support, do not take anything I say as professional help. Please seek a professional if needed.

I just know doing this by myself with ADHD and lots of nerve pains it can easily stress me out and loose motivation. Sometimes just being able to vent about a programming frustration or lack of productivity to people that can relate to you can help get you moving. 

I don't think this violates the rules, if it does I'm sorry and please let me know how I can modify this to work. I just think a support group here for mental health would just perfectly align and get people into the right mindset. :)

PS. Sorry I ramble easily.

First post: