Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

"Counterspell" dev log

A topic by BaseCase created 52 days ago Views: 319 Replies: 11
Viewing posts 1 to 11
Submitted (1 edit) (+3)

Hey all, looking forward to the jam! I'm new to Lisp but I decided I wanted to finally learn Clojure for real this year after admiring it from afar for a long time. Since my day job is web dev, I figured I'd try to make a browser-based game to limit the unfamiliar stuff to just the language, so I'm going to try using ClojureScript and Reagent to build a word game inspired by the likes of NYT Games and Puzzmo.

Planning to keep short dev log entries in this thread, and I'm also thinking about livestreaming some of my work sessions (although I'm not a regular streamer, so we'll have to see how much of a hassle that is to get going).

Looking forward to starting!

edit to add: decided on a title: "Counterspell". updated thread title to match.

Great. Clojure is an amazing language.

Submitted(+1)

I have no livestreaming experience, but I did a little test stream last night and it seemed to go OK, so I am going to stream all my jam work sessions on Twitch! The plan is 7:30 PM to 9:00 PM CDT each evening of the jam. Feel free to join me if you want a little background noise while working on your own project! http://twitch.tv/basecase

Submitted(+1)

Day 01: Got off to a bit of a stumbling start, as it's my first time using ClojureScript and Reagent, but I ultimately got through my todo list for the evening! I'm generating a grid of random letters and rendering it to the screen. I was hoping to include setting the random seed so I could get random-but-repeatable game boards, but I ran out the clock for the evening and that turns out not as simple as passing an extra arg to rand-nth, so I'll have to figure that out next time.

Submitted(+1)