On Sale: GamesAssetsToolsTabletopComics
Indie game storeFree gamesFun gamesHorror games
Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

Our jam retrospective - Time management, things that got in the way, things we did well

A topic by D.Sandwich created Jul 26, 2023 Views: 265 Replies: 4
Viewing posts 1 to 5
Submitted (8 edits) (+2)

Hey,

Me and my mate Unrealvision thought it would be cool to do a retrospective about the jam.
It is a great way to list the things that we did great and the things we did wrong in order to improve for the next jam.
This is something we do at work (i'm a software engineer and he is a ui designer) and we encourage everyone to do the same (in this thread if you want).

Our game is SuperSugarSailor https://itch.io/jam/kenney-jam-2023/rate/2184272
It's about finding candies and the sacred sugar cane in the sweet sea.
Engine : Godot

This is our first game jam !

We did not "ultra try hard" the jam and slept and eat at our regular hours. Note that for our first game jam we did it in person and not remotely.

We worked approximately 19h. We started 3 hours late the jam and as I said we took time to eat and sleep at least 8h / day.
We were two so we had 38 man hour

Here is the time we spent (approximately) :

• Pure GameDev : 20h
  • Being Stuck : 10h total
    • Shaders/Particules : 2h (we gave up)
    • Auto tiling / Tilemap (we partially gave up) : 2h
    • Git / Export : 6h (yeah... we should have read the godot gitignore recommendation before trying to merge our branches... + merge error)
  • Musics making and searching for sea sounds : 3h
  • Game export and testing (making sure that there was no obvious bugs and that the game worked on itchio) : 2h30
  • Visuals / Itchio page :  1h30
  • Game Design : 1h (hard to tell because it was often at the same time as the gamedev)

What we did wrong : No clear map / arrow or indication to known where the player is, Bad tutorial, We tried to do shaders without knowing anything about it