Game developmentAssetsComics
SalesBundles
Jobs
Tags

A Question for the Community

A topic by pipcy created Feb 21, 2023 Views: 299 Replies: 18
Viewing posts 1 to 11
Submitted (5 edits) (+2)

Hi guys! This is my first game jam ever!! I am new to game dev, and it was a blast making a game in a week, it was a little bit stressful but at the end it was a really fun experience!! I made this game with 2 of my friends and we shared a lot of fun time together making this game. We submitted this game 5 minutes before deadline!!

Going into this game jam I prepared myself for criticism knowing that I am a noob myself, but I was surprised by the positivity and supportiveness of this community. 

If you are reading this post, I would love to know what's your experience, how many game jam have you participated, any fun story while making this game, and any word of advice to a new game dev! I'd love to hear about your story and build connections!

Lastly, I would really appreciate if you could play our game and gives some feedback!https://itch.io/jam/brackeys-9/rate/1933371

Also, leave your game below! I'll play it! (if your game needs to be downloaded, I'll get to it when I get home)

Submitted(+2)

Congrats on completing your first Game Jam! Loved the creativity of the PC home screen!

I have been a game developer for about 4-5 years now and from that experience, I would say the most valuable advice I can give is to not set overly ambitious games. We like to set the bar very high and want to create the next God of war, GTA, or Souls-like, only to have those ambitions crashing down when we evitably cannot finish it. I would recommend creating simple games along with following a task manager to learn what you can or cannot do in a reasonable amount of time.